do i smell curry?

It’s 6:30 in the morning and there is still a faint scent of curry (!) still lingering in the air of our apartment. It does not go well with my coffee. I light a candle and cozy up with my laptop. A typical South Florida storm rages over the ocean and I think to myself about how much my life has changed since Matt and I moved to Miami.

The food in South Florida is much different from the food I grew up with. Hot peppers quickly became my new obsession. I love to try new recipes and experiment with flavors and spices. Thankfully I have a husband who thinks he has a stomach of steel and definitely has a sense of adventure. On Matt’s last trip he bought me a new cookbook. “It’s the perfect cookbook for you honey,” Matt explains, “it even has the nutritional information for each recipe next to it!” *swoon*

Last night’s feast . . .

Curried Shrimp

2 lbs. shrimp (shelled)
1 tsp. minced garlic
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
2 tbsp. green seasoning
2 tsp. curry powder or more
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp. salt
hot pepper to taste

1. Season shrimp with garlic, onion, and green seasoning (that’s green curry).
2. Mix curry powder with 1/4 cup water.
3. Heat oli and add curry paste and saute for 1 minute.
4. Add shrimp, salt, hot pepper, and stir to coat shrimp for a minute or two.
5. Add remaining water and cook on high heat for about 3 minutes. DO not overcook as shrimp will be tough.

Adjust salt and pepper.

I served mine with sauteed green peppers and cous cous whereas Matt just had cous cous. It was great! If I did it again I’d use a little more water and curry paste. I’d also use more hot pepper.

One thought on “do i smell curry?

  1. Michelle, the shrimp really looks good. I would probably love it (though not as hot as you would make it). I'm not sure that TB would eat it however. Keep sending those recipes.Love you.

Leave a Reply

